Hawks been there, won that

Aap Images

LIKE plenty of his Hawthorn teammates, Jarryd Roughead already has three premiership medals in his pool room.

And it's that experience among the squad he thinks could get the Hawks over the line against West Coast in Saturday's grand final.

"No doubt it's a major factor that we can draw on - our knowledge. We've been here before and we know what to do this week," he said.

The Eagles haven't played in a decider since 2006, with Sam Butler the only survivor from that side, although Sharrod Wellingham (with Collingwood in 2010) and Xavier Ellis (with Hawthorn in 2008) have also played in an AFL premiership.

As well as its three recent premierships (2008, '13 and '14), Hawthorn also played in the losing 2012 grand final to Sydney. That was one of only four losses in 15 finals games in the past five seasons.

"Hopefully we don't lose another one this year," said Roughead.

Topics:  afl2015

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Local Partners